DSIR 2020

9th International Conference on Data Science and Institutional Research (DSIR 2020)

Call for papers

The IIAI International Conference on Data Science and Institutional Research (IIAI DSIR 2020, previously IIAI-IRIM) focuses on practices, technologies, applications and theories for management of higher education and research activity in universities and institutions.

In the last two decades, global standardization and quality assurance in higher education become more important than ever. On the other hand, research performance of universities and research institutes are discussed in the context of international competitive edge. Being based on such situation, many universities and research institutes have enriched institutional research and institutional management, but in fact it is more necessary to study business practices and establish theories and methodologies in those domains than ever. Especially theories and applications of institutional information are one of the most remarkably worthy domains.

The aim of the conference IIAI DSIR is to provide a worldwide forum, where the international participants can share their research knowledge and ideas on the recent and latest research on Data Science and Institutional Research, and map out the directions for future researchers and collaborations. Not only researchers and graduate students, but also administration staff and executives in institutions of higher education will be welcomed to participate in the conference to exchange research findings in the frontier areas of data science and institutional research.

All accepted and presented papers in the DSIR will be published in the conference proceedings by CPS and will be submitted to Ei Compendex, Inspec, and several major citation index. All the prospective papers must be submitted online at the conference website.

We welcome contributions, which will be advanced visions, practices, technologies, helpful research and theories in the domains. The scope of IIAI DSIR 2020 will cover a broad set of research topics including, but not limited to, the following:

Management on Higher Education and its Data Science

  • Educational Big Data and Data Science
  • Big Data in Smart Campus and Its Analysis
  • Social Network of Faculties and Staff
  • Performance Indicators in Higher Education
  • Analysis of GPA System
  • Enrollment Management
  • Effectiveness of Institutional Performance

Management on Research Activity and its Data Science

  • Bibliometrics
  • Management of Research Project

Information Systems for University Management

  • Data Warehouse and Business Intelligence for Universities
  • Visualization of Institutional Information
  • Statistics for Institutional Research

Quality Assurance on Higher Education

  • Faculty Development and Staff Development
  • International Recognition of Quality Assurance
  • Assessment of Learning Outcomes
  • Monitoring for Improvement of Education
  • Accreditation for Higher Education

DSIR 2020 Organization

Conference Chair

Nobuhiko Kondo, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Steering Committee

Michiyo Shimamura, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan
Masao Mori, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Kunihiko Takamatsu, Kobe Tokiwa University, Japan

Program Committee

Kento Aida, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Mohammad Anwari, Community College of Qatar, Qatar

Takaaki Aoki, Nagoya University, Japan

Yoshikazu Asada, Jichi Medical University, Japan

Felice Billups, Johnson & Wales University, United States

Sven Bingert, Goettingen, Japan

Lutz Bornmann, Max Planck Society, Germany

Shih-Yung Chiu, Soochow University, Taiwan

Miho Funamori, NII, Japan

Susumu Goto, Research Organization of Information and Systems, Japan

Lasith Gunawardena, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka

Kentaro Harada, Shimane University, Japan

Toshiharu Hatanaka, Osaka University, Japan

Kohei Hatano, Kyushu University, Japan

Kazuhiro Hayashi, National Institute of Science and Technology Policy, Japan

Masaharu Hayashi, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Akihito Hiromori, Osaka University, Japan

Shotaro Imai, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Masaaki Ishii, Kanda University of International Studies, Japan

Yutaka Ishii, Waseda University, Japan

Takafumi Kirimura, Hirosaki University, Japan

Dmitry Kochetkov, Higher School of Economics, Russia

Yusuke Komiyama, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Nobuhiko Kondo, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Ryosuke Kozaki, Hyogo University of Teacher Education, Japan

Kei Kurakawa, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Keiko Kurata, Keio University, Japan

Henry Luetcke, Scientific IT Service, Switzerland

Dario Malchiodi, University of Milan, Italy

Takeshi Matsuda, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Hiroshi Matsui, Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan

Tatsunori Matsui, Waseda University, Japan

Shimpei Matsumoto, Hiroshima Institute of Technology, Japan

Preecha Methavasaraphak, Assumption University of Thailand, Thailand

Radomir Mitic, Council of Graduate Schools, United States

Mattia Monga, Università degli Studi di Milano – Dip. di Informatica, Italy

Katsuhiko Murakami, Tokyo University of Technology, Japan

Masayuki Murakami, Kyoto University of Foreign Studies, Japan

Junichi Murata, Kyushu University, Japan

Yasuo Nakata, Kobe Tokiwa University, Japan

Yoko Nakazato, Kagoshima University, Japan

Keita Nishiyama, Senshu University, Japan

Takahashi Nozomi, University of the Ryukyus, Japan

Kahori Ogashiwa, Teikyo University, Japan

Tetsuya Oishi, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Yuji Okada, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan

Kiyotake Oki, Waseda University, Japan

Vincent Ong, Regent’s University London, United Kingdom

Eiri Ono, Kyoto University, Japan

Stephen Porter, North Carolina State University, United States

Ankit Ravankar, Hokkaido University, Japan

Robin Rice, University of Edinburg, Japan

Daniel Rudolf, Bonn University and State Library, Germany

Takahiro Saito, Osaka University, Japan

Hitoshi Sato, Fukuoka University, Japan

Takanori Sato, Tokai Gakuin University, Japan

Takahiro Seki, Niigata University, Japan

Michiyo Shimamura, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology, Japan

Toru Sugahara, Waseda University, Japan

Toru Sugihara, Kanto Gakuin University, Japan

Kimikazu Sugimori, Kanazawa University, Japan

Aoi Kishida, Kobe City Nishi-Kobe Medical Center, Japan

Shintaro Tajiri, Yokohama College of Commerce, Japan

Kunihiko Takamatsu, Kobe Tokiwa University, Japan

Eiichi Takata, Kobe University, Japan

Masatoshi Tsuchiya, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan

Mao Tsunekawa, NII, Japan

Tsutomu Yamada, Nagoya City University, Japan

Yusuke Yamamoto, Shizuoka University, Japan

Yasuhiro Yamanaka, Hokkaido University, JapanChong Yu, Azusa Pacific University, United States